Horses Seen Through My Eyes…Agatha Kacprzak

Sometimes, when you meet a person, and that person is an artist, you may, or may not have a connection with their work. You might very well love the person, as for their art, it might be a subjective thing. But in the case of Agatha Kacprzak, I immediately identified with what I saw in her artwork.

After you read her story here, you will understand why. As a child myself, my great-uncle would keep shetland ponies that my brother and I could ride. I also remember a picture of a painted pony with my mother and her older brother when they were just kids, so I know my grandfather enjoyed horses as well.

When my father married my mother, they moved to the “city.” Which meant subdivisions with back yards, and no place for ponies or horses. Even so, my dad would take me to the “Trades Day” in Canton, Texas, and we would always go to the livestock section. I remember this one little filly, a Palomino, for $200. I begged and begged, but it was not to be.

I do not know why I love horses, and always have. It is a deep abiding love and passion, and it has no comparison. When you love horses, you love everything about them, without question, from their smell, the smell of hay, to their beautiful, watery eyes. I always say, if we can ask for anything in heaven, all I want is a good horse and plenty of green grass. That would be my heaven. So it is with great love and excitement that I bring to you a most beautiful woman, and her story… as Horses seen through “her” eyes.

Agatha Kacprzak was born in Poland in 1979. Her family left because of Communism and they immigrated to Germany, and then later to Canada in 1991. Agatha now lives in the lovely Laurentian region of Quebec. This Laurentian region near the Riviere Rouge is a wild and wonderful place, rustic and rough, beautiful in the way of big rivers and old growth forests of the northern Canadian wilderness…

As a little girl, Agatha doodled horses on school books, restaurant napkins and anything she could find. Her parents could not afford riding lessons, let alone to buy a horse, so she started a collection of magazines and books to fulfill her passion and hobby. In Germany, her family was lucky to live in a rural town where she watched the neighbor’s horses graze for hours, and she imagined herself riding them when she would close her eyes. It wasn’t until 2010, after seeing one of her little childhood sketches framed at her grandmother’s home, that she decided to pick up her pencil once again.

Then she stumbled upon a horrific story of a little girl losing her beloved horse in a farm vehicle accident. As a mother and horse lover, she was immediately touched, and felt the need to express her sadness and compassion for the grieving family. She drew a portrait of the little girl on her horse, and offered it to the family. They were very thankful and grateful, and from there her pleasure for drawing began to grow.

Next she contacted a local horse refuge named Le Refuge de Galahad near her home in Quebec. She asked them if she could offer free portraits to anyone donating to the refuge. And to this day, she still contributes to Le Refuge de Galahad with every sketch that she sells. When you see Agatha’s art, it is so very clear to see her love of horses, whether the most magnificent Arabian, or the wounded and scarred farm horse caught in a barn fire. This passion and emotion is so beautifully captured in her sketches along with the feelings that horses give to their human companions. What Agatha Kacprzak sees through her own eyes, are the noble and gentle creatures who enchant us with their beauty and grace. Today, Agatha is very blessed as she shares her life with such a horse, her beautiful Coconut. Agatha has never taken formal art classes, but has been very fortunate to receive advice and mentoring from wonderful artists such as Robert Zirillo, Jess Morin and Sharon Linn.

So it is with great pleasure that I give you the beautiful and inspiring work of Agatha Kacprzak, and the horse, as seen through her eyes… She hopes in the future to experiment with different mediums, such as charcoal and pastels… but in my mind, she is an artist complete… I hope if you also love the horse, you will investigate what she does, and what many of the women of the Laurentian Region of Quebec do for the horses they love. And even if you only love the horse from afar… I know you will enjoy the amazing sketches of Agatha Kacprzak!

She finally has her horse! "Coconut"

She finally has her horse!
“Coconut”

Ms. Kacprzak presenting at one of the benefits for the Horse Refuge in Quebec

Ms. Kacprzak presenting at one of the benefits for the Horse Refuge in Quebec

A mare and her foal, by Agatha Kacprzak

A mare and her foal, by Agatha Kacprzak

She loves all horses, and you can feel it in her work!

She loves all horses, and you can feel it in her work!

Horses As Seen Through My Eyes... Agatha Kacprzak

Horses Seen Through My Eyes…
Agatha Kacprzak

Agatha Kacprzak and Coconut

Agatha Kacprzak
and Coconut

12 thoughts on “Horses Seen Through My Eyes…Agatha Kacprzak

  1. What a passion. I went to Quebec in the early ’90s but have no idea if I was near this area. I love that you share the same passion for horses. I know someone who is like that and even though he hasn’t seen a horse in years, he often talks about the Arabians that are native to his homeland.

    • Yes, they are from the original Spanish Barb breed. Exquisite in so many ways. (See the movie “Hidalgo” and ingore the common jabs about “Hollywood!” haha

      • The person I know is Moroccan and states that the Spaniards got horses from the Moors when they controlled most of Spain (Barb refers to Berber–the native people of the Maghreb or most of N. Africa). Having lived in Latin America and visited Morocco years ago, it’s really interesting to see how much of the Moroccan influence (architecture, etc.) went to Spain and then the New World by the Spanish conquistadors. Regardless, they make quite a spectacle of the horses in Morocco during certain festivals when the horses are adorned with beautiful fabric and tassels and it’s quite beautiful. Just Google! 🙂

  2. Lovely! Thanks for the info! You bet I’ll google it! I love to know the history of horses! Awesome! I’m also crazy over-the-top about Morocco! But never been there. I had no idea that they loved horses as well, and had parades and stuff with them! I would give anything to see that! I can only imagine! (or google it!- haha) And yes, I too totally LOVE the Moroccan architecture! It is definitely on my bucket list to go there! Maybe we can plan a trip together! Really!!!!!!

    • Oh, yippee. If I were better health-wise and spoke more French (they’re Francophone as you probably know), I’d move to the desert there in a heartbeat. In the desert, I only got to Fez (hot and dry–lovely) as it was summer and the car had no A/C and it would be too hot in Marrakesh in the south (like here–over 110 F in the summer), but oh, was it wondrous in all the cities and town I visited. You’d go gaga over the souks and I could still eat then and went crazy over the spices and olive/pickle stalls where you can sample everything. I still have handmade shoes from there (the pointy ones) that everyone comments on. You’d love the riads, too–those are the old homes built around a central garden or tiled courtyard. Being Jewish, I easily passed for Moroccan, which was 20% Jewish until the ’80s or so, anyway. Lots of Europeans go or have 2nd homes there now and no one has any issues–just watch out for pickpockets! My parents (long divorced) actually lived in Morocco shortly before I was born! If I can ever be an expat again, I’m picking you up on the way and we’ll make a little oasis and get fresh food in the souk and take in the strays (I did that in Mexico as they’re everywhere). Oh, life could be a dream still… 🙂

      • I know!!! The souks! And I’ve seen the riads! I imagine morning coffee there, looking up! Khussa shoes! Yes! Love them. They wear them in Pakistan as well! There is a blog called My Marrakesh by a lovely girl named Maryam. That is where I first found a love of all things Moroccan! Desert life might be good for you! And yes, I agree, you have a very beautiful and exotic look! What a beautiful adventure that would be indeed!

      • Aw, thanks. They call those shoes babouches there, here’s a nice photo: http://www.mypartymuse.com/moroccan-evening-picnic/moroccan-babouche-slippers/
        Mine have woven raffia in various colors on the top and I’ve resewn them and even had them resoled to preserve them! We’ll add the Moroccan desert and a riad in the souk to our list when the final straw comes… Lots of kitties and Moush Moush sunning themselves in the courtyard and a horse nearby for you! Oh, I want my old body back when I really would and could do that!
        Hugs! A 🙂

Leave a Reply

